view our policy on cookies, other analytic tools and usage of personal data and 

Holy Island Parish Council

home meetings planning local links
home meetings planning local links


The Holy Island Parish Council is a group of five local people elected every four years as community leaders to represent the views, opinions and interests of residents living in the parish. It is the first tier of Local Government. The Chairman is elected annually by the councillors who work voluntarily, but the Clerk is paid for his work (usually between 10 and 20 hours per month) and provides all the administrative support required.
Council meetings, which the public may attend, are held four times a year and additional meetings are held as required. The County Councillor for the Norham and Islandshires ward usually attends the meetings to report on matters of interest and to liaise with the Northumberland County Council on our behalf.
The Parish Council is a statutory local authority in its own right having a wide variety of powers and duties conferred by many statutes. It undertakes a vital role within the local government system. The Parish Council works closely with the Northumberland County Council and other bodies to ensure the needs of the Parish and its residents are not overlooked.
Briefly the Council's role can be described as follows:
The Parish Council is represented on the various community groups: "The Holy Island of Lindisfarne Community Development Trust", "The Holy Island Village Hall Committee" and the "Holy Island 2050".

Members of the Parish Council

Mr Jonathan Hewitt - councillor
07768 840322
Mrs K. Johnson - Vice-Chair
Holy Island Partnership - Council Representative
Volunteer Coastguard
01289 389160
Mrs K. Anderson - councillor
Member of the Labour Party
01289 389208
Mr David Graham - councillor
01289 389500
Mrs Karen Ward - councillor
Employee of Holy Island School
Member of GMB Union
0774 9924730
Lauren Scott-Anderson - Clerk
07789 265478

Please contact us

  • Please write   in this box
Holy Island Parish Council,
Reading Room,
Holy Island,
TD15 2SQ
Clerk: Lauren Scott-Anderson.
Tel: 07789 265 478